Well-Played, June.

1 Jul

“The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of sixty minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is.” 
― C.S. Lewis

During the month of June I have taken great pride in knowing what day of the month it is. It was not uncommon for me to walk into the office and announce, “Good morning! Happy June 13th!”, or “Have a lovely June 21st!”My hope in this astute attention to the date was that it would help me to be more fully present in each day, and maybe by some supernatural power this attention would help time to slow down. Makes sense, right? But, alas, the second we believe we have any sort of control we lose our balance, and June passed as quickly as ever, maybe even faster, just to prove to me I don’t have a say in the matter. Well played, June.

And yet, even though time has passed in the blink of an eye, we’ve crammed a lot of life into these last few weeks. Between cookouts and porch beers, frolics in the grass and long drives with the windows down, summer has definitely hit the ‘Burgh. There’s an energy in the air that makes me want to go to sleep late and wake up early, not wanting to miss a second of what these sunshiny days and summer nights have to offer. The Pals all seem to be infected with this energy, and we have been up, down, around, and about more than ever before. The free spirit inside of me is dancing for joy.

Some June adventures: 

ape

High ropes adventure course with Big Papa on Father’s Day

pirates

Community night at the Pirates Game (they aren’t the Indians, but they’ll do in a pinch) 

dream

Volunteer ice cream scooping at Dream Cream (buy our flavor…Change a Heart gets the donation!)

I don’t know what I’m going to do when the moment comes where I have to hug my friends goodbye. I realize that life is a process of growing attached and letting go, but I feel myself clutching these Pals with every ounce of strength I can muster. I’ve had to watch loved ones move hundreds of miles away before, and  been dropped off at buses and planes amidst hugs and tears. I know we can do it, because we have to do it. Nothing gold can stay said Frost, and time passes sweetly by. But despite that awareness, I feel myself clenching these days with a white-knuckled grasp. And as sore as that makes my knuckles, I can’t say it’s totally a bad thing. Now more than ever, I’m savoring every conversation, every hug, every laugh. I’m choosing conversation over sleep and companionship over solitude. Maybe there’s something to living with the knowledge that time is limited.

In the span of our lives, this year is nothing but a dot on the timeline. But Mitch Albom wrote that one day can bend your life, and I know for certain that after a year in this little adventure my life will never be the same. Cliché? Of course? Sentimental? Naturally. But that’s just what love does to people.

Leave a Reply

